Travel Alert: As of July 1, visitors wishing to park a vehicle in WA state parks and recreations lands will need to purchase a Discover Pass. The fee is $10 for a one-day pass, or $30 annually.
You will need this vehicle pass in order to visit Lime Kiln State Park on San Juan Island. Be forewarned, failure to display the pass as required will result in a $99 penalty.
The passes can be purchased online at www.discoverpass.wa.gov or at ACE Hardware, Kings Marine, and Roche Harbor General Store on San Juan Island. They can also be obtained by phone, at (866) 320-9933, or at a state park when staffed. A Discover Pass purchased from a recreational license dealer, by phone, or online, will cost a total of $35, which includes the $30 pass fee, a 10 percent transaction fee and $2 dealer fee. A one-day Discover Pass costs a total of $11.50, which include the $10 base price, the 10 percent transaction fee, 50-cent dealer fee.
The pass provides access to recreation lands and water-access sites managed by the Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission, the state Department of Natural Resources (DNR) and the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW). State recreation lands include state parks, boat launches, heritage sites, wildlife and natural areas, campgrounds, trails and trailheads.
The Discover Pass must be visible in the front windshield of street-legal motor vehicles on state recreation lands. Holders of certain types of fishing and hunting licenses, registered campers in state parks and certain others are not required to buy or display a Discover Pass. For details on these and other exemptions, visit www.discoverpass.wa.gov. There is a $99 penalty for failing to display the pass as required.
Other San Juan Islands retail locations are Island Marine Center and Spencer Spit State Park on Lopez Island; Eastsound Sporting Goods and Moran State park on Orcas Island.
For questions or more information on Discover Pass sales call 1 (866) 320-9933.